Casual Friday?

It’s Friday, ya’ll.  Ten years ago, Friday meant dragging my butt into work after going out to karaoke the night before and drinking waaaay too much (an absolute prerequisite – liquid self-confidence- to build up the nerve to sing Bon Jovi, Britney Spears, and Irene Cara, or rap to 50 Cent in front of a bar full of friends and coworkers). But notwithstanding the pounding headache and queasy stomach, Fridays were always full of excitement as I counted down the hours to happy hour drink fests, or rushed home to wash, blow dry, and flat iron my hair, and get dolled up to go clubbin with my girls! Those were the days! 

Fast forward to 2015, Fridays just mean anxiety and nervous anticipation. Of the crazy, totally exhausting weekend, filled with soccer games, swim practice, basketball games, and all sorts of kid activities. Fridays mean looking forward to, despite my better judgment, letting my kids watch movies on their Kindles/play games on their Nintendo DS, so that I can sit my butt on the couch and mess around online in peace. 

BUT. Friday mornings in 2015. Those I LOVE. Because I go into the office on Fridays. That means I get to dress up. Look like a grown up, rather than one of the neighborhood kids (petite gals – you know what I’m talking about. When you go to your kids’ elementary school and they mistake you for a fourth grader!). My hubs always wants to know why I get dressed up for work, but honestly, it’s probably the last remaining piece of the 2005 NYC livin la vida loca version of me that remains. The me who, despite my lack of funds, was obsessed with cute shoes and, well, looking cute. 

So on this Friday, it’s gonna be 70 degrees. Thank goodness spring is finally here! Despite the rain, it was time to bust out some spring cuteness, working-mom-of-4-style!

 

Top: Loft Petite Lightweight Softened Shirt, in White,  XXSP (available in 4 other colors)

This is the perfect top for petite gals. Although it’s not a stretchy material, it wears almost like a fitted shirt because the sizing is so spot on. It’s very soft, and comes in s bunch of other fun spring colors! Plus, I don’t have to worry about the bulging button-boob situation I normally have to deal with when I wear button-down shirts! I could go on and on about the times I have been in court making arguments only to look down and realize my buttons have bust open (how long were they like that? Why didn’t anyone say anything?)!!!

But anyway, I am actually going to buy 2 more of these shirts. JUST IN CASE. you know how it is with white shirts! Danger, AKA, spaghetti sauce or red wine, is always lurking! 

Skirt: Banana Republic Shine Faille Full Skirt, in Navy Star, 00P (also available in Black)

I ❤️ this skirt. The fabric is really soft and the navy blue color, which has a little bit of shine, is a perfect alternative to black or beige. And best of all, it works as a day-to-night look (although, who are we kidding, I’m not wearing it tonight as I veg on the couch)!!! OMG, how could I forget? This skirt has pockets. I love a skirt (or dress) with pockets! 

AND. It’s on sale now!! Plus, you can get an additional 40% off, so run, don’t walk, to a BR near you. Unless you live in DC area. Slow the hell down. I don’t want too many people being my twinsy today!

Shoes: Nine West Pumps in Yellow (sorry, my mom bought these for me in 2012, so I don’t think they’re still available). 

I completed this look with a teal and blue beaded necklace, diamond stud earrings, and 3 Alex and Ani bracelets. 

HAVE A GREAT FRIDAY! 

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

2 thoughts on “Casual Friday?”

Thoughts?

