Matchy Matchy

It’s hard to break out of the matchy matchy fashion rut. From an early age, it was instilled in me that clothes must match, and you shouldn’t mix prints and patterns, or wear contrasting colors. If I wore a red shirt with jeans, I was wearing red socks. Blue and white shirt? I layered blue and white tube socks. Polka dots and stripes were a no-no. And, God forbid I mix brown and black. Just didn’t happen.  Color blocking? Hell-to-the-naw.

In my mid-to-late 20s, I pretty much always wore a black skirt, with some kind of blouse, and black shoes to work, and my idea of adventurous work attire consisted of a dark beige suite (GASP) with a black shell and beige animal print shoes (heart be still). My clubbin/bar outfit usually consisted of black pants or jeans, a colorful top from Forever 21 (that was my jam), and black boots (winter) or strappy sandals (the rest of the year). Every now and again I would throw on my purple or turquoise animal print strappy sandals JUST FOR FUN. Cuz I  they were the bomb. The first three decades of my life, everything needed to perfectly coordinate or I felt out of sorts. 

As I approached my mid-30s, I started to move away from being so matchy matcy all the time. I just got tired of looking like I was wearing a uniform everywhere I went. But, I’m still learning to think outside the box when I get dressed. It’s a process. 

So, it absolutely amazes me that I didn’t pass along my fashion deficiencies to my daughter. Truthfully, sometimes her outfits are really out there, but generally, she can put together an outfit like nobody’s business. She somehow gets the rules of mixing patterns and colors, and she looks like a little fashionista in training. She picked out this little ensemble yesterday without any help from me. 

 

Now if I had tried to mix polka dots and stripes, it would have been a hot mess.  But she totally makes it work by sticking with similar red patterns. 

And today, she is wearing this.   

Again, she sticks with navy blue polka dots and stripes, and looks so adorable. 

Perhaps I should let her take over this blog from now on. She clearly knows better than her mama!

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

Thoughts?

