TBT: Stitch Fix Review #1 (better late than never)!

I’m a little late with this, but here’s a review of my very first fix, from January 2015. In my defense, I didn’t have a blog in January, and even if I had, I didn’t appreciate the value of sharing my thoughts about the fix beyond the stylist and my sister, so better late than never, right? I should warn that I can’t remember the cost everything.  And I misplaced the receipt. Mommy brain? And my hair is a hot mess in these pics. My bad. Can I use my 4 kids as full-time work schedule as an excuse?

#1 Papermoon Kellie Houndstooth Print Swing Skirt XS ($58)

I’m really a sucker for prints, so I kept this, even though I don’t usually like skirts that are longer than just below the knee (I’m 5’0 tall – I don’t want to look like I’m wearing a tent. Or my 6’11 hubby’s shirts! Midi and maxi skirts usually don’t do my frame any justice!).  But as long-ish skirts go, this isn’t too bad. The material is very soft and it’s a great color for Spring. Although I already have way to many blue and green items in my closet, I kept this because it’s unlike any other skirt in my closet. And I guess that’s the whole point in my using Stitch Fix – getting help thinking outside the box, and picking items that I’d overlook on my own.

(Top: Gap; Belt: Banana Republic; Shoes: Nine West)

#2 41Hawthorn Jordanne A-line Skirt XS ($68)

 

I instantly liked this A-line skirt because it will work with both button down blouses, shells, and cropped tops, like I’m wearing here. I also liked that it would be a nice change of pace from the black, or grey, or navy skirts I often wear to work. It fits really well – fitted, without being so tight that I cannot sit down. My biggest complaint is that I didn’t need two burgundy items in one fix (see #5 below). If this had been another color, maybe orange, yellow, even kerry green, I would have reLly been happy. But I kept it.

(Top and Shoes: Target)

#3 Fate Garrison Faux Leather Panel Blouse XS

 I didn’t really need this top, as I have that black tuxedo shell from Loft that fits somewhat similarly. But, I really liked the leather strip down the middle. It’s a fun, sort of edgy detail. I’m not what I’d consider very edgy, so this little hint of edge was plenty. And it’s a versatile shirt, which I can wear at work and on the weekends. The fit – it’s a little roomy in the body, but the length is good. I kept it.

(Pants: Target; Shoes: Mix No. 6)

#4 Pixley Trisha Cut-Out Back Knit Shirt XS ($54)

The top wasn’t all that special at first glance. But the I saw the cutouts in the back, which is a really fun touch. Basically this top is like a mullet – business in the front, party in the back. And the material is very soft.  I ended up keeping it because I wanted the first three items and it wasn’t much more to keep this one. 

(Skirt: Banana Republic; Belt: Loft – came with a strapless dress)

#5 Augustina Lace Back Open Cardigan XS

I was not in love with this cardigan. At all. The fit is too big. It’s baggy in the back and just doesn’t lay down flat. I don’t like lace. I’m not into frilly or that whole romantic look. No. Just no. And I didn’t really love the dark burgundy when there was already burgundy in the fix.  I know it comes in other colors, which would have been much better. I was really looking for brighter colors (and still am).  But, I kept it because if you end up wanting more than 2 or 3 items, which I did, it just doesn’t make sense to forego the 25% off discount.

(Skirt: Loft; Top: item #2 from this fix)

So, overall, it was a decent first fix.  I had fun, and I obviously went back for more. But I wasn’t totally thrilled with all the dark colors. Yes, it was still winter at the time, but I’m more of a bright hue/bold print kinda gal. And as you will see with my other fix review, I only bought everything because buying them all ended up being about the same or cheaper than just buying 3 or 4 items. My biggest complaint about Stitch Fix is that they don’t seem to have the bold hues and prints that I see online (and in other’s fixes) in my size (XS). I know, WAH, poor sad, petite girl. But I need clothes too, dammit! I hope now that they’re have petite sizes, that I actually get more items I love in the right size. I’ll probably wait a few months and try again.  If no luck, I’ll probably quit SF. Or start my own one dedicated to helping petite gals! LOL!

Interested in trying out Stitch Fix? Click on my referral link

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

11 thoughts on “TBT: Stitch Fix Review #1 (better late than never)!”

Thoughts?

