“Mom, what happened to your hair?”

Not exactly the reaction I was going for when I decided to try something new today. My 3 oldest kids all had this same reaction when I picked them up from school today. Well, it took my 3 year old several hours to realize that something was different, but when he did notice, he looked confused.  My daughter didn’t even recognize me. And my oldest, he wanted to know if I was wearing a wig because where had I been hiding all this hair. 

You see, I have put down my flat iron. Probably not for good, because, well, I’m an addict, and it’s gonna be hard to give up straight hair. But, I’m gonna try (emphasize try – I’ll probably end up flat ironing my hair in a week) giving the flat iron that’s been with me since 2008 a little break. 

Even though I stopped chemically straightening my hair 16 months ago, I haven’t been able to give up flat ironing my hair. Until today. I guess I’m just tired of spending two and a half hours of my life to straighten my hair only to have it rain and make all of that effort go to crap. 

And I’m trying to set a good example for my daughter – to let her know I’m fine with the mess of hair on my head and she should be too. 

I honestly was very scared. Mostly because I had tried going natural in college and it was a disaster. I didn’t know what I was doing with my hair, so it looked like a rat’s nest. It was awful. And because I looked like hot caca, I ended up just going to the salon every 2-3 weeks to get my hair flat ironed, which totally defeated the whole purpose of going natural in the first place. 

It has been so long since I had just worn my hair in its natural state that I had no idea what my hair would look like if I ditched my blow dryer and flat iron. I suspected it would be along the lines of Cousin It (or the Bride of Frankenstein). I obviously know that my hair in its natural state is very curly/kinky/lioness-like, but knowing that and leaving it that way anyway took a lot for me! 

I’ll say, I wasn’t unhappy with the results:

   I do need to switch up the hair products in my arsenal if I’m gonna attempt to go flat iron-free, but I think it looks decent for using the wrong products! All I did was divide my hair into for sections, cowash with Organix ever straight Brazilian keratin therapy hydrating keratin masque, rinse, add Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen Grow & Restore leave-in conditioner to each section, and then ended with a little Moroccan oil. 

I actually felt like I was wearing a wig all day, and felt like a different person, which was kinda neat. And people in the neighborhood didn’t recognize me. I dunno. I think I can have some fun with this. 

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

Thoughts?

