Waaaay Late Stitch Fix Review (March 2015)

This was the Fix that pissed me off so bad, that I wanted to completely quit Stitch Fix. I guess I kinda have quit Stitch Fix at this point, although I did get another fix after this disaster of a fix. I still want to love Stitch Fix but  considering trying one of the other fee-free options out there. But, I digress.

This March 2015 fix was supposed to be my birthday gift to myself, and I provided really detailed comments and suggestions because I knew my husband was going to be taking me out to eat without our 4 kids…oh yeah…and I wanted something bright, bold, bright, fun, and sleek! And the more patterns, the merrier. I provided my stylist with items I was crushing on, and listed items from their blogs that I would love to see in my fix.  I linked my profile to my Pinterest board. I also reiterated that I am 5’0 and want (need) fitted (but not tight) clothes.

But, sadly, there was nothing bright, bold, or sunny in this fix. The colors were drab, bland, and more suited for the fall or winter. The fit of most of the items was all wrong, even though I said “if it runs big, please don’t send it to me!” And, it basically seemed to me that the stylist ignored all of the hard work I put into getting a good fix. And what’s the point of asking for my input if it’s going to be ignored?

Here are my thoughts on each item:

Lauree V Neck Draped Dress XS. ($68). This dress dress is navy blue. I asked for spring colors. But, honestly, it fit me perfectly. It’s fitted! Yes! The V wasn’t so deep that I have to wear a tank underneath, which happens often. The material is so soft and is lightweight. The dress does come in other colors, I think I saw it in fuschia, which would have been much better (and more exciting) than this. Nonetheless, I KEPT because when you use “it fit” and “perfectly” in the same sentence, you don’t return it.


Skies are Blue Winnifred Mixed Material Blouse XS.
Again, I wanted spring colors. This doesn’t say spring to me. At all. I asked for fitted. This was BIG and roomy. I wanted bold and bright this is pretty meh. Really underwhelming. RETURNED.

Market and Spruce Elissa French Terry Moto Jacket XS. Ugh. Hideous. Seriously not my style at all. And what about this jacket says spring, I ask? I specifically asked for sleek and something spring-like. Instead they sent this jacket. The material felt cheap and the jacket was WAY too big. RETURNED.

Kiegan Skirt XS. UGH. The color was not at all spring-like. I asked for bright colors and/or bold prints, and got a black skirt that was so short and tight, I couldn’t wear it. It would have been great if I were a Kardashian, but I’m not. I don’t even think I would have worn this in the early 2000s. It looked awful on me. Not that a working mom of 4 can’t be sexy, but I don’t want to look like my husband rented me for the night of you know what I mean. Needless to say, it had to go! RETURNED.

Bancroft Nisha Fanned Geometric Necklace. ($44) This is gorgeous. Seriously. It turns for work and for play. And the silver tone is great for me because I pretty much live in silver-toned (or white gold) jewelry. KEPT. I have worn this often. Totally redeemed the fix with this item.

Overall,👎🏽👎🏽👎🏽👎🏽👎🏽👎🏽👎🏽, even though I ended up keeping two items (to get back my styling fee) I was not happy. Actually, I was pissed. There was nothing in that fix that I could wear for a nice evening out without my kids. And that’s disappointing, because I barely ever get to go out for a meal without the 4 monsters. I was so pissed off that sent a scathing email questioning whether my stylist hates me.

I’ll give it to Stitch Fix though – their customer service is great and they offered me a free styling fee for my next fix. See my April 2015 review, which was a much better fix.
I’ve taken a brief hiatus from Stitch Fix. And am considering trying some of my other personal stylist options. Has anyone had any experience with others?

Stitch Fix is an online personal stylist service.  All you do is fill out a style profile, including your wants, likes, and dislikes, and schedule a “fix” to be sent to you on a specified date.  Your stylist picks out clothing and/or accessories, and you buy what you want and return what you don’t want.   Interested?  Want a help a petite gal get a $25 referral fee to fed her shopping obsession? Click here.

Fix #1 (January 2015)

 

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

7 thoughts on “Waaaay Late Stitch Fix Review (March 2015)”

Thoughts?

