Stitch Fix Review #4:September 2015

So, I decided that I have been going about this online personal stylist thing all wrong, and that I need to change my expectations about what Stitch Fix sends me. Basically, the new me thinks that I don’t need to love everything they send me in my fix. In fact, my wallet (and the hubs) would probably prefer that I don’t! As long as my stylist sends me colors that are bright and fun, and I can apply the styling fee to at least one awesome find in my fix, I am going to feel like a winner.

The new me ordered another fix, and was even more specific in my comments/requests to the stylist.  I asked to be sent bright, bold colors and prints that would transition nicely to my fall wardrobe. I also begged, for the love of God, not to have anything black, navy blue, or drab in my box. And, it is kind of amazing how committing to being a bit more relaxed and positive about this process resulted in THE BEST FIX THUS FAR! Oh yea. Everything in this box is a bold, fun print, just like I asked. See?  Positive thoughts net positive results. SCORE! Hells yea. (Can you tell I’m excited?!)img_9111

Here is what I received in my fix (Don’t know what Stitch Fix is? Scroll to the bottom of this post for more details):

Papermoon Keever Button Back Blouse – Turquoise (XSP) $48.

This shirt fits my petite frame very well. It isn’t too long, and isn’t roomy in the body. It’s a cute print too – the blues and mauve will transition well to the fall, and the buttons in the back are a cute, delicate touch, without being too cutesy. The split back gives it a sexy/edgy feel, which I love.  I also think the material is great for the remaining few weeks of summer, and will work in the fall underneath a jacket or fitted blazer.  I can definitely see myself wearing this blouse to work and on the weekends.

KEEPER!

Margaret M Christiana Skirt – Blue (XSP) $78.

This pencil skirt is the shiznit, and it is my favorite piece in this fix. It’s basically everything I look for in my clothes – stretchy and fitted, without being so tight that you can see how much change I have in my pocket (if I carried change in my pocket, that is)! And even though it is stretchy, is doesn’t ride up when I walk.  That’s huge because a lot of fitted skirts leave me spending the entire day tugging at the hem area, and that’s super annoying.  The skirt is a very soft material that looks heavier than it is. The length is perfect, right above the knees, and the subtle blue print can be paired with a solid top or with a print top, as well. I think this skirt looks especially cute with a bright solid top, which really makes the subtle blue tone on this skirt just pop.  This skirt is a great addition to my work wardrobe and I am going to put it into the rotation immediately.  I cannot wait to wear it!

KEEPER! 

41Hawthorn Moni Geo Print & Camisole Blouse – Orange (XS).

The print and color on this blouse are gorgeous. Just gorgeous. It’s my second favorite piece in this fix.  I probably would never have picked this out for myself, as I normally don’t love orange, but this blouse makes me smile because it reminds me of a beautiful sunset. The brass buttons are such a nice touch – they make the blouse look less romantic (yuck) and more edgy (yay). My only real complaints are that it’s a little roomy in the body and a bit too long. But noting that tucking it in can’t solve.  And the print actually looks really good with the Margaret M Christiana Skirt I received in this fix because they are similar prints, so I can tell this is going to be a very versatile top, one that I can wear most of the year, and with skirts, jeans, leggings, and shorts. I am also excited to start wearing this top.

KEEPER!

Papermoon Seaport Crew Neck Blouse – Black (XSP) $44.


At first I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this print with its pastel colors. I tend to stay away from pastels like I stay away from the plague. But, I like that it’s colorful, a mix of different prints, and it’s something that I normally wouldn’t pick out for myself. I think this top will transition nicely to the fall, which is important. I’m dedicated to try and find more pieces that I can wear year-round (or at least, most of the year). The length of this blouse is good, a little bit below the hips, so it doesn’t look silly (or frumpy) untucked. It is a little roomy in the body, so I’d more than likely tuck it in so my waist doesn’t disappear. I can definitely wear this at work and on weekends. KEEPER!

Margaret M Emer Printed Straight Leg Pant – Black (XSP) $79.

I had asked for some bright-colored skinny jeans, but they didn’t have any in my size.  Booo. That seems to always happen to me.  (Wah, poor little petite girl, I know).  Even though they didn’t have want I wanted in terms of pants, I do really, really dig the print on these. But I am not loving the fit.  While they are stretchy and fitted, which I normally like,  and hit right at the ankle, which is good for us petite gals, as you can see, they bunch up in the knees, even when I am just standing. Not sure if this is because of the type of fabric, or the cut, I don’t know.  I see myself wearing these with boots rather than flats, which maybe will keep the pants in place?  I don’t love these pants.  But…

KEEPER, but only because it would actually cost me more not to keep them.  And I am nothing if not good at math!

Total (minus 25% discount and styling fee):$209.50.  Not bad for 4 things I really like, and one that I think is okay.

Final thoughts: This fix is freakin fantastic. Seriously fantastic. It was everything I had been looking for in the previous 3 fixes.  Thank you, Amanda.  I feel like you really heard me!! And you have renewed my faith in Stitch Fix (yay, but boo for my wallet)!

Stitch Fix is an online personal stylist service.  All you do is fill out a style profile, including your wants, likes, and dislikes, and schedule a “fix” to be sent to you on a specified date.  Your stylist picks out clothing and/or accessories, and you buy what you want and return what you don’t want.   Interested?  Want a help a petite gal get a $25 referral fee to fed her shopping obsession? Click here.

Fix #1 (January 2015)

Fix #2 (March 2015)

Fix #3 (April 2015)

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

10 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review #4:September 2015”

  1. Hi!

    Wondering who your stylist was? I have actually liked or loved 9/10 of my items in the last 2 fixes . And even the 10th thing, a dress was in a great color- FINALLY! I am between a S and XS in shirts but I made up my mind that if I lived it, I would get it taken in…..

    Also I too decided to be more upfront in what I ask for

    Like

    1. Amanda was my stylist. Which is someone different from before, thankfully. I’m really very happy with this fix and am actually excited to schedule a new one.

      So happy you have had better luck, too. Hopefully this is a long-lasting trend!

      Like

Thoughts?

