Makeup Monday (January 2016 ipsy Glam Bag Review)

I started subscribing to ipsy last month because I wanted to try something new.  Also, as much as I was enjoying my Birch Box subscription, I was really starting to get annoyed that they were always sending me pink eye makeup,  which just doesn’t look very nice on my brown skintone). And then there were the boxes.  As beautiful as each box was, and they were really stunning in many cases, I had no real use for them.  I had this huge collection of boxes and they were just taking up space and collecting dust.  The last thing I need is more useless stuff.  I have 4 kids, my entire house is filled with useless junk.

For a while I started giving the boxes to my 6 year-old daughter, but even a 6 year-old can only take but so many boxes.  She simply grew tired of me giving her the boxes for her nick nacks.  

So, I was more than glad to try out ipsy, because I knew that they would give me a cute makeup bag, which, at least, would get some use. I rigid my daughter could also use the glam bags as purses, and I can switch out my makeup bag every month or use them as wallets or a little bag for my crap when I go out.  And so far, ipsy has been really spot on with the products they have sent me.  My January 2016 Glam Bag was a real hit.
First off, the bag is soooo cute, with its “All Eyes on You” theme.

Hanalei Sugar Lip Scrub.  This lip scrub was right on time, because with the weather suddenly going from unseasonably warm to frigid, my lips are not in the best shape right now.  They are chapped and dry and just not cute.  I’ve used this scrub every day right before I get into the shower, and my lips look and feel so much better.  After using for about 3 days now, my lips are very smooth and soft because the scrub moisturizes as well as exfoliates, so the elements aren’t taking their toll on my lips anymore.  This is a great product, and I am going to buy the full size for sure!

Skone Cosmetics Smudger Brush. This brush is pretty handy, especially because I have no makeup brushes apart from the brag that came in my Naked2 palette. It really did a good job of smudging my shadow, and I have no complaints!!!

Pixi by Petra Mesmerizing Mineral Duo in Lavender Bloom.  The colors definitely wouldn’t be my first choice, but they are subtle, which I like.  The go on really smooth, and they last during the day.

Burt’s Bees Cleansing Oil. I was really skeptical about using a cleansing oil on my face, especially since my t-zone has been so oily of late (ah, the aging process). And it was a little odd applying it to dry skin, knowing it would foam up or anything. But this cleansing oil has actually been great for my skin. It definitely doesn’t dry out my face like many cleansers do, face actually looks and feels moisturized, without being greasy.  Definitely going to buy the full size. 

theBALM Cosmetics Mr. Write(Now) in Scott B. Bordeaux. It took me about ten minutes to get through the plastic wrap packaging surrounding this liner, which was such a pain.  But once I was finally able to use the liner, it didn’t disappoint. It went on smooth and was easy to blend.  This color is pretty, too, a nice change from my normal brown liner. 

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

Thoughts?

