Reflections…

So, I’m about one year into this blog, and I’m still trying to figure out what I’m doing and were this is all going. And whether I should even be blogging in the first place. When I first started out, I planned to write a blog where I could primarily feature clothing and styling tips that petite girls like me might find useful. I saw a lot of blogs and posts on Pinterest aimed at petites, but nothing that really spoke to me – a 5 foot tall wife, mom, and attorney, nearing the twilight of ny 30’s.  So many of the blogs I’ve read, well, the petite gals look simply amazing, so put together, and like they had endless boatloads of cash with which to purchase a fabulous wardrobe. But I was looking for something more attainable than what I was seeing. I wanted a blog that helped me put together cute and stylish outfits for a petite gal that didn’t break the bank; outfits that were appropriate for a working mom who doesn’t want to wear a mom uniform, or anyone who just wanted to look trendy without trying too hard.  So I figured that even though I didn’t know the first thing about writing outside of the legal profession or blogging, maybe I could fill that void.  And if I could throw in a few product reviews and other things that have made my chaotic life easier, all the better!

But after blogging for the last 10-11 months, I’m feeling like this blog just isn’t what I wanted it to be. I have these awesome outfits planned out in my head, but then they don’t always work out once I execute.  Sometimes the colors don’t look that great together; sometimes the outfit looks great but for a top that’s a little too baggy or a skirt that bunches up  a little too much, or a pair of pants that are too long; and sometimes, even if put tiger her a slammin outfit that looks great and fits well, the pictures look like poo (too grainy, too dark, too bright, or just whack)!! As if it wasn’t plainly obvious, I still haven’t figured out how to best photograph myself – I’m too embarassed to ask my husband to take pictures of me for my blog (he will just laugh), I don’t know whether to use my DLR or just my iPhone, I am awful at taking selfies, and even if I get a decent selfie, the lighting is crap.  I look at photos other bloggers take on their blogs, and I wonder how they get such beautiful photos!  

And seeing all of these shortcomings in my blog, I wonder, am I helping any petite gals out there?  Is my blog a good use of my time?  Is it worth it to continue?

As I approach my blogs one-year anniversary, and consider these really important questions, I feel like this blog, like me, is a work in progress.  Maybe the blog isn’t what I thought it would be – not as pretty, not as stylish, and not as inspiring. But I still have a lot to learn, and I feel that there is a lot that I can do with Petite Girls Need Clothes Too. And it all starts RIGHT NOW!! I’m excited to see what I can accomplish with my blog this year…I hope everyone enjoys taking this ride with me!

~Mo

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

11 thoughts on “Reflections…”

  1. I have enjoyed reading your blog a great deal. I am still plugging away at my “style” and although you are much smaller than I am, I have learned a lot!

    Like

  2. Hey, I’m coming over from the Blogging 101 class. Just taking a quick look at your blog, I wanted to say, “Don’t underestimate the power of the right lighting for pictures!!” I used to do camera work and I took photography classes when I was in college, for my major. I learned about 3-way lighting when I worked on a TV show. The idea is that you have a background light, a “soft” light, and a “brighter” type light, all at different angles. The camera squeezes a 3-dimensional subject into 2 dimensions, so you want the light to create the illusion of a 3rd dimension. Anyway, I’ve gotten good results with three different lamps set up in three different places – sometimes even with just two lights. You might also consider taking photos on a cloudy day. Everybody thinks photos are best on bright, sunny days, but that’s not true. Cloudy days diffuse the light, making it softer and less harsh, and soft light creates the best photos. I’m just an amateur, but I’ve learned a little bit and wanted to pass along the wisdom.

    Your blog looks great, and with the right pictures, it can be even more amazing! Good luck with all your blogging goals this year.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by and fir the tips! I have a great Nikon camera that I bought when my daughter was born that unhindered forget that I even have ever since I got an iPhone a few years ago no should probably bust out that manual I bought with it and learn how to use it for more than just pictures of my kids! I signed up for the Blogging U class for photography, too!

      Like

  3. You helped me when you suggested I go to XS for Stitch Fix and it worked! You’re helping people!

    In terms of photographs, it DOES matter what type of camera you’re using. Use the DSLR, but know how to use it properly in different settings. I’m featuring posts from my boyfriend, who is a photography buff, about once a month, so maybe you’ll find those helpful! And you should ask your husband anyway!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Karin! I signed up for the Blogging U curse on photography next month and will bring out my Nikon and actually start using it. And yeah, the hubs is gonna have to help out whether he likes it or not! I’m sure it will be a hoot for the both of us! Or else, I’ll get the kids to help out. Looking toward to your photography guest posts! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi MoVig, I am impressed with your writing skills, I just started a week ago. It seems like I can’t pull myself from the computer once I start. I uploaded Grammarly to assist me with my many grammatical mistakes. I like your writing style. I really think that you should continue and maybe take it to the next level. Promote your site and get subscribers also. You will eventually receive enough attention to attract advertisers to this wonderful site. Keep up the good, no scratch that, The Great work!

    Like

    1. Thank you very much @Beatingaddictionnow! I really appreciate your feedback and stopping by. I do a fair amount of writing in my day job, but blogging is a whole other ball game. So, it’s definitely a learning process! I’m hoping to get a lot out of the course wordpress offers in order to help me get my blog where I would like it to be, and then see where that takes me. Good luck with your blog!

      ~M

      Like

  5. Sooo this is my first time reading your blog, and I’m on day 3 of having a blog of my own. Please keep at this blog, I read a couple of your posts so far and I am your perfect audience as I am your size!!! (With a couple of extra pounds) I look forward to catching up on your older posts and learning more. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks you so very much for stopping by! I’ve really enjoyed blogging, and I feel like I am finally hitting my stride! Blogging, like everything in my life, is such a work in progress. But I’m really excited about continuing to evolve as a blogger and sharing fashion tips and reviews with my fellow petites!

      Since you’re just starting out, the blogging 101 course offered by WordPress may be of interest. I’m taking it now, and it’s helped me so much in terms if getting my blog to look and feel better!

      Have a great day! Looking forward to reading your blog, as well.

      ~M

      Like

Thoughts?

