Petite Fashion Friday (New Way to Wear a Sheath Dress)

A couple of weeks ago I posted about the versatility of sheath dresses, and today is a good illustration of that. I’m wearing the Carine Dress from Banana Republic circa Fall 2009, which is a cute sheath dress that was part a suit set – I have the blazer and a high-waisted skirt, as well.  The Carine Dress has been a favorite of mine for a long while. I’ve always liked this dress, as the grey was a nice alternative to the black and navy blue suits that had been staples of my attorney wardrobe when I first started out. For the longest time this dress along, with the matching blazer, made up my “power suit” and it felt like a good luck charm when I wore it.  So, I would wear this dress when I had an important meeting with higher-ups or to job interviews. I always felt so in charge and on top of my game when I wore this dress.

But, one of the things that always annoyed me about this dress was the neckline. It is cut a bit low into a V neck, so I always had to be very careful not to have a wardrobe malfunction when I was at these important meetings and interviews. Giving a glimpse of the fun bags is just not something I want to do in the workplace. This cleavage situation actually became even more of a problem after kiddos #3 and #4. Once birthing and feeding them deflated the chesticle region, what was already a risky flashing situation became even more precarious.

But not being one to give up that easily, I came up with a solution that allows me to continue wearing this that dress I love without risking an embarrassing work situation – wearing a button down shirt underneath the dressy a la private school uniform jumper. Problem solved. img_5610-2I paired this dress with a Loft Petite Embroidered Diamond Softened Shirt, which I bought back in 2013.  It’s such an incredibly soft shirt with a delicate diamond pattern.  And to set the outfit off, I paired with a pair of Sole Society Olyvia Halo Ankle Strap Pump in Blue Multi, which I bought from Nordstrom Rack in December 2015 and have been dying to wear. 

Totally happy with this new way of wearing an old favorite!

Happy Friday!

~Mo

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

3 thoughts on “Petite Fashion Friday (New Way to Wear a Sheath Dress)”

Thoughts?

