Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 1)

Hello. My name is Mo. And my closet is OUT OF CONTROLimg_5981

There are just too many clothes in there. I have tons of clothes that I’ve worn once before but haven’t seen the light of day in more than five years. And even worse than that, I have tons of clothes in my closet that are BRAND SPANKING NEW, still with tags on them. So many of these things are YEARS OLD and are just begging to be worn. And this doesn’t even include the bins of clothes that are in the basement.  My poor husband barely has any space in our walk-in closet for his things any more. He gets that small little nook all the way in the back.  Even my 9 year-old knows that this isn’t the way his parents’ closet should look.  It’s a real problem.

The simple truth is that I just have TOO MANY CLOTHES! And a shopping problem.  I have a real bad shopping problem.  And I’m essentially turning into a pack rat because I don’t even try anymore to give something away every time I bring something new into the closet in like I used to.  (Please don’t call Hoarders: Buried Alive on me!)  After walking into my closet this morning, it became abundantly clear that it is beyond time to get my closet in order.  But where to start?  How do I get a handle on this closet situation?

BINGO – by starting my own 30 Day Challenge.  And I’m going to call it Operation Clean Out My Closet.  

And what does Operation Clean Out My Closet entail, pray tell?  Well, for starters, I am going to commit to wearing something (1) new or (2) unworn this year every day, for 30 days.  At the end of that 30 days, I am going to assess what I haven’t worn and start the purge.  Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Change is comin’ to my closet, ya’ll. I hope.

So, today, I wore a
white Kenneth Cole Reaction Vest (S) that I bought from Costco like 5 or 6 years ago when vests weren’t even in style. But I barely ever wear this vest even though vests are all the rage the last 2 or so years, and I haven’t worn it this year.  Voila! Easy peasy.  My pants are the Loft Curvy Skinny Corduroy in Plum Preserve (25P). I actually wear these a lot, and have posted about them before, so they obviously don’t count toward this challenge.

I am also wearing a Gap oversized plaid scarf circa Spring 2012 that I never wear. I bought the scarf I am wearing right before my third child was born. And it will go down in infamy as the scarf I was wearing when he had an epic blowout in his diaper. This is probably why I don’t wear this scarf all that often – nobody wants to wear a scarf that they associate with little baby poo!

And finally, my cream and plum striped top is from Loft.  I can’t remember when I bought it, but I’m going to guess in or around 2013.  I don’t wear this top much, either. Probably because it was hidden in a bin that I packed when we moved into our new house 2 years ago, and I just found it today.

I finished the outfit off with a pair of Naturalizer Breena Boots that I bought in December 2015 from Nordstrom Rack.

So, I didn’t wear anything brand new today, but I did get to put 3 barely-worn pieces back into the rotation.  Therefore Day 1 of Operation Clean Out My Closet Day 1 was a success.  Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes, even some as silly as these, take time. But I am well on my way and super excited to “discover” some treasure hiding in my closet!

WILL SHE KEEP IT THOUGH?  YES!  I love these pants, so the pants obviously stay. I mean, I have 4 pairs of them in different colors), so that’s a no-brainer.  The top stays, as well.  I just need to stop packing it away into the bottom of a bin!  Ditto for the scarf.  I just need to stop associating it with explosive baby diapers.  Haha!

Check back tomorrow for Operation Clean My Closet Day 2!

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

4 thoughts on “Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 1)”

  1. When my clothes got out of control a few years ago, and I simply HATED to give anything away, I started this: After washing, I’d put them at the bottom instead on top of piles, at the back instead of at the front of drawers, and always at the same end of the rack.

    When choosing what to wear, I always start from the other end. If a T-Shirt (or other item) stays on top of the pile all the time, it asks me every day: Should I stay or should I go?

    I can give them away much more easily now.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

