Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 12)

Getting dressed this morning was so difficult.  And not because I don’t have anything to wear  – obviously, this is not the case; I wouldn’t need to clean out my closet if I didn’t have anything to wear!).  But after deciding to wear a pair of barely-worn pants today, and I NEVER wear pants to work, I had to try on a few pairs before I found one that fit to my liking.  You see, since I don’t wear pants to work, even on the most frigid of frigid winter days, almost every pair of work pants in my closet is at least 8 years old.

The first 2 pairs of pants I tried on – a pair of grey pinstriped wide leg pants (size 0) from Banana Republic circa Spring 2005 and a pair of grey Old Navy wide leg pants (size 1) circa 2006, were too big.  Now, I haven’t lost any weight since 2005. Hell, I’ve birthed 4 kids since 2005, which has totally changed my body.  So, I am not sure what is going on with the sizes.  Maybe I liked my clothes to fit a little looser back then?  I don’t know.  But when I showed the hubs each pair on pants, he was like, “no, they’re too big, you look silly.” So nice, isn’t he?  And since he isn’t a huge fan of my wearing overly fitted clothes to work, this was pretty telling.  Needless to say, I am giving those pants away, and it was back to the drawing board.img_6625-2

Fortunately, I found these grey wide leg pants from Loft (0P) circa 2012.  (What is it with me and grey wide leg pants, anyway?) Judging by the dry cleaner’s tag still in these pants, I haven’t worn them since November 2012.  And I’m not sure why – they fit okay, and they give me a lot to work with. But these just don’t get any play.

I paired these grey pants with a white ruffled top from H&M (size 2) that I bought in 2015, and a cream and grey striped cardigan from Banana Republic (size XS) that I bought in Fall 2010.  I wear the top and cardigan often enough, so they don’t count.  The belt is a zebra-print skinny belt from Banana Republic circa 2013, which I wear often.The shoes are a pair of dark purple pumps from Nine West, circa 2009, which I haven’t worn since 2010.

BUT WILL SHE KEEP THEM? I will definitely keep the blouse, cardigan, and shoes, although the cardigan probably is on its last legs (I see a hole about to form – BOO!).  But the pants, I am going to give them away.  When I got to work, I saw a stain on them.  I don’t think it will come out, seeing as how they came back from the dry cleaners 3+ years ago with that stain on them.

On to Day 13.

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

Thoughts?

