Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 13)

Today is a snow day, so everyone is home today.  Just look at the weather conditions we have to deal with right now.

Oh, the HORRORS!  I won’t even bore you with my anger over the snow day that was called last night at 10:30 p.m. even though the forecast only called for up to AN INCH of snow.  That’s right folks, up to an inch of snow.  But, let’s just say that I am not pleased that the less than an inch of snow that fell last night melted by 12:00 p.m. and yet, there is no school.  In the words of my hubs whenever he is displeased, BITTER TABLE FOR ONE!

Anywho, last night’s snow storm was, I think, Winter’s swan song, and the days of cold and snow are coming to an end.  Hell, it’s suppose to be 70+ degrees and sunny next week.  So, today (and possibly this weekend) is going to my final opportunity to go through the winter clothing bin to see what I want to keep and what should go.  After rummaging through the bin this morning to get dressed, I found a brown Old Navy cropped sweater (size S) from 2006 that I probably haven’t worn in 4 years!

DSCN01180038
I swear there is a large baby bump hidden under here – my son would be born 2 months later!

I bought this sweater when I was pregnant with #1 (thus, the size small), although in hindsight, what the F was I thinking buying a cropped sweater when I was pregnant? But putting that questionable decision aside for the time being, I really, really loved this sweater when I first bought it, and wore it a lot throughout my first pregnancy.

 

Even though my baby bump would not be contained by this sweater, I wore it often that winter I was pregnant.  But I pretty much rarely wore this sweater after he was born. Mostly because I lived in Arizona at the time, and I wouldn’t exactly call the Phoenix desert sweater weather.  And even after we moved east in 2010, I think I have only brought this sweater out once or twice.  It’s a shame too, because I really like this sweater.  It’s cropped, so it can be layered with a variety of tank tops, solids, prints, you name it.  Cropped tops are especially flattering on petites.  And the little buttons over my left shoulder are a nice detail that I actually never really noticed until today.

Best of all, this sweater has the cutest, cutest elbow patches, which remind me of the blazers my dad used to wear in the 1980s.  There is something so appealing about elbow patches, at least for me.  They feel retro yet modern, and I think they are such a nice detail for sweaters.

 

 

 

 

Anyway, I wore the sweater with a beige lace collar tank from Banana Republic Spring 2006.  I haven’t worn this tank since 2013. The denim skinny jeans are from J. Crew (25P), which I bought in November 2015.  I absolutely love these jeans to death and wear them often.  I should have bought more than one pair, but that’s my bad. And the brown booties are from H&M.  I actually just bought these a few weeks ago because they were on sale for $20, and I can’t pass up a pair of cute boots for $20.

So, there you have it, Day 13.

BUT WILL SHE KEEP IT?  YES!  I am definitely keeping this entire outfit.  The sweater is so cute and I just need to get rid of some of the crap I keep in my bin of winter-only clothing so that it doesn’t get lost in the shuffle.

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

3 thoughts on “Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 13)”

Thoughts?

