Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 15)

I thought getting dressed yesterday was hard, but today was way worse!  I don’t know why I struggle so hard putting together casual outfits, but I do, especially when trying to wear things that I haven’t seen the light of day this year.  The first outfit I put together was this:

But these Mossimo periwinkle skinny jeans (size 1) are too tight for my liking, and they are too low rise.  Every time I sit down I feel like I am showing the world WAY more than it wants to see. I bought them from Target at the same time I bought the pink skinny pants I blogged about a few weeks ago when I started this challenge, and they are the same size and brand, but I guess being different material and all, they fit completely different, and not in a good way.  I knew I would be miserable all day in these, wondering if my arse was showing when I sat down, so I traded this outfit for something more comfortable:

This is MUCH better.  I found this bright pink long sleeve stretch tee (size 2/4) at the bottom of my T-shirt drawer.  I bought this is 2003-ish from a European catalog I used to receive in the mail when I lived in NYC.  I’ve always loved this top, but I don’t think I have worn it in the last 2 or 3 years.  The last time I wore it, my oldest son and husband commented on how bright this top is, and I think that really has kept me from wearing this more often.  But it’s such a pretty color, so I say, FORGET THEM!  I like it, I’m gonna wear it.  They should just put on sunglasses. 😉   I think this top will work dressed up for work with a pencil skirt, or dressed down with a pair of shorts, a mini skirt, or jeans, as I did today, so I am really glad that I found it.
I decided to take a break from the skinny jeans and pants and wear my old faithful Banana Republic stretch bootcut jeans (size 25P), which I bought in 2012 or 2013.  I love these jeans.  They fit so well, hugging my curves without being uncomfortably snug. And they are the perfect length, which is rare for petite pants, which I find are generally too short to ever wear with anything other than flats. I really wish I had bought more than one pair of these at the time, because I have bought other pairs from BR since, and, although the same size and supposedly the same cut/fit, they are too big and just don’t fit as well as these.  Oh well.

I put on multicolored belt (bight pink, pale pink, white, navy, and turquoise), which came with a pair of white capri pants i bought from Target when I still lived in Arizona, so this belt has to be about 8 or 9 years old.  I really like this belt because I can (and do) make it work with so many different outfits.  The shoes are my teal pointed ballet flats, which I think works really well with the turquoise in the belt.  And finally, the grey scarf is from Old Navy circa 2011.  I really like grey, pink, and teal together.

So, even though my first attempt at an outfit wasn’t that successful, I am really happy in the end.

BUT WILL SHE KEEP IT? Yes. All of it!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, everyone!

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

Thoughts?

