Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 16)

Happy Monday. I’m actually feeling like it’s really going to be a happy Monday because it’s warming up for good in the DMV and Winter appears to be on its way out.  The forecast for today calls for highs in the low to mid 60s. Perfect weather! It certainly makes getting dressed in the morning easier when I don’t have to worry so much about layers.
Today never-worn item is the Loft Painterly Floral Skirt (size 00) in Midnight Slate, which I bought in late Summer 2015. I’m not sure why I never got around to wearing this skirt, as it fits really well. This skirt has just enough stretch in it to hug (but not strangle) the curves. The length of this skirt is perfect – right at the knees, which is is flattering on a petite frame.  The cute floral print in muted black and grey acts as a neutral and can therefore be paired with a number of different color tops. And the curved shirttail hem is a nice touch, making this skirt a bit more exciting and interesting than your typical pencil skirt.  I guess my problem is, I have too many pencil skirts, and have a few favorites that get way more play than others.

Even though this skirt could work well with a pretty spring-colored top, I opted for something a little more understated and polished, the Loft Petite Essential Softened Shirt (size XXSP), which I bought in Fall 2014.  Judging by the dry cleaners tag stapled to the tag, I haven’t worn this shirt in about 8 months or so. And I think I may have only worn it 2 or 3 times at MOST in the 18 months I’ve owned it.  I think the problem for me and button-down blouses is that they never stay put the way I would like them to. I probably need to start wearing wardrobe tape or something, because I feel like no matter how tightly I tuck them in, button-down tops always bunch up a little on the sides. I also always end up needing to roll up the sleeves because petite long-sleeved shirts, while fitting well in the body, are always too short for my arms. I think I must have really long arms for a short girl.  But button-down shirts are timeless staples for any wardrobe, so I feel like I need to make them work as best as I can.

To finish off the outfit, I put on a grey and eggplant statement necklace that I bought at World Market 5 or 6 years ago.  And the pointed eggplant heels are from Nine West.

BUT WILL SHE KEEP IT? Yes, all of it!

I hope everyone has a great day!

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

Thoughts?

