Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 18)

March 21, by my calculations, is the last day of this 30-day challenge to clean out my closet. And it can’t come soon enough.  I am really tired of standing in that closet every morning agonizing over wearing something that hasn’t yet been worn.  It’s so much easier to just wear my old faithful pieces!  On the one hand I am glad that I am forcing myself to get it together, but man, I am mentally exhausted.  And yes, I recognize that this is total a first-world problem, but dammit, hurry up March 21!

Today, I had my heart set of wearing a dark green top that I bought from H&M last year, but this top really only looks good with a pair of shorts.  And as warm as it is outside (81 degrees on March 9 – WHAAAAA?), wearing shorts in March when I am not on vacation, or living in Florida, California, or Arizona feels wrong.  In other words, I didn’t shave my legs and wasn’t planning to.  TMI, sorry.

So, I scrapped the plans for the pretty green shirt and went back to the drawing board.  I thought a lightweight dress with leggings might be nice because I could cover up the unshaved legs but still be comfortable when I venture outside later on today.  But of course, it had to be a dress and leggings that I either haven’t ever worn, or hadn’t worn this year.  The only leggings I have are either black (and worn a lot), or this one pair of leopard print leggings that I have never worn.  Leopard print leggings it is.


I bought these grey leopard Patterned Leggings from Old Navy in 2015, but once they arrived in the mail, I never actually felt like wearing them.  I never even tried to wear them like I normally do.  I literally threw them into my bottom drawer and never gave them a second thought.  Until today.

The black shirt dress (size XSP) with a drawstring waist is also from Old Navy.  I think my mom bought this for me back in 2012 or 2013.  I’ve worn it 3 or 4 times, most recently last summer.  Even though a black dress is typically a no-no when it’s 80 degree or higher, the dress is a light enough material that it doesn’t get all sticky and gross.  I like that this dress has a drawstring waist, because otherwise, I’d look like I was wearing a burlap sack.  And when you are only 5 feet tall, that’s not a good look.  I finished off the outfit with the teal pointed ballet flats I always wear, because I didn’t want to detract from the leopard print.

I’m pretty pleased with this outfit.

BUT WILL SHE KEEP IT? Yes. All of it!

 

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

Thoughts?

