Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 20)

Hey everyone! Happy Friday! I’m really excited to be 2/3 of the way done with this challenge to clean out my closet. As annoying as it has been, I am really doing a great job already (if I don’t say so myself) of eliminating things in my closet that I know I won’t wear anymore (or ever).  As I was looking through my blouses and tops to get dressed this morning, I was able to place 3 blouses on the giveaway pile. I also found a top that I love that has a hole in it, so that went on the discard pile (although I think H&M takes textiles in any condition, so I need to look into that).  I’m actually thinking about trying ThredUp to sell the brand new items that I have decided to get rid of. Does anyone have any experience with them??  And I think for everything else, I am going to donate. Hopefully everything finds a good home!

Anywho, back to today’s outfit. It was pretty easy to get dressed this morning. I knew I wanted to finally wear a blouse that I received back in a September 2015 Stitch Fix box.

Love it when the kiddos photobomb me!

This is the Papermoon Seaport Crew Neck blouse (size XSP). I have been wanting to wear this blouse for a long while, but I haven’t liked it with anything in my closet when I previously tried to wear it. And then it was the Winter, so I haven’t really been able to wear this blouse in the last few months. But I think Spring has finally sprung, so the pastel colors on this blouse are perfect!

The skirt I’m wearing is a relatively new addition to my closet, so I guess it doesn’t count for the purposes of this challenge. But I couldn’t wait to wear it (and also, didn’t want to wear this blouse with shy of my go-to black pencil skirts). This is the Ann Taylor Petite Ponte Skirt (size 0P).  This skirt is so flattering – it is stretchy but not right, and it really looks very sleek. I like that when I tuck a blouse into this skirt, the blouse stays put!  I wish this skirt came in other colors or prints!  I’d be all over that!

The pointed-toe heels I’m wearing are by Colin Stuart. I think I bought these from the Victoria’s Secret catalog in late 2007 or early 2008.  I wore them twice in 2008, and haven’t worn them since.  Most likely because they are soooo high.  Check out the heel on these puppies! 

Back when I bought these, I was replacing similar pair (with a lower heel) that I wore a lot but that had crapped out! I was in court every day and has many suits that required black heels! So I bought these thinking I had found a winner. But I remember these heels stopped being comfortable by midday if I had to walk a lot or stand up when addressing the judge.  FAIL!  Truthfully, I’m not sure why I though such high heels were a good idea – they’re sleek and sexy, no doubt, and I’m actually of average height when I wear these, but not very practical, are they?

BUT WILL SHE KEEP IT? I am definitely keeping the blouse.  It’s really pretty and now that it’s warming up, I am sure this will get a lot of play!  The skirt is obvs a keeper because it’s brand new and will be in the heavy rotation for work wear.  And finally, the heels – I will keep them.  They aren’t practical, but not everything needs to be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

2 thoughts on “Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 20)”

    1. Thanks! I can’t wait. I ordered the bag to send my stuff in two days ago, and I’m excited to get your take on it! Can I just say your closet is my #closetgoal!!!

      Like

Thoughts?

