Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 23)

I am coming up on the home stretch of my 30 day challenge to start wearing things that I’ve never worn so that I can finally clean out my hot mess of a closet. It’s really make or break time, so I’m really going to step things up a notch in this final week!

Today, I wore a grey and black Calvin Klein belted shift dress (size 2) that I bought from Ross back in 2013 that I’ve never worn.  I bought this dress right before I found out I was unexpectedly pregnant with baby #4, like literally 2 days before I realized “crap, I’m pregnant again. WTF happened?”  Yes, I already had done the whole baby thing 3 times before and was still very confused that I was pregnant again at age 36!  But I digress.  Once I found out I had taken on another passenger on the baby making express,there wasn’t really any point in wearing this dress.  The thought of wearing anything with a belt around my expanding midsection was really unappealing.  And then after I returned to work from maternity leave, I couldn’t really wear this dress because I was pumping 3 times during the course of the day in the office, and this dress was simply too much trouble in that department. Sorry for the TMI folks.

Anywho, I figured it was high time to see if this never-been-worn dress was worth my keeping the last 2.5 years.  It has a cute chevron print and is really a classic dress for a career gal.  And it has pockets – I LOVE dresses that have pockets!

But the dress is a tad big.  Sigh.  I should note that the dress comes with a cropped jacket, but cropped jackets are not my thing.  AT ALL.  They look way too matronly, and the last thing I want is to look like a granny before I even hit my 40s!  So, I put on a fuchsia cropped cardigan from New York & Co. that my mom bought for me, thinking it would brighten up the dress. I also put on a silver-toned necklace and chandelier earrings to give the outfit a little extra oomph, and finished it of with a pair of black heels (which I will change when I get to the office, because the shoes I really want to wear are under my desk)!

BUT WILL SHE KEEP IT? Maybe.  The dress is definitely big on me, but maybe I can get it hemmed.  And see if they can take it in a tad. I think it’s good to have a few classic/timeless work dresses in your wardrobe, and with a few alterations, I think this dress will work nicely.  Thoughts? Is it too much trouble to be worth it?

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

2 thoughts on “Operation Clean Out My Closet (Day 23)”

Thoughts?

