Petite Fashion Friday (April 1)

Ugh. The last few days have really been dreary, especially after coming home from vacation in the Dominican Republic, where the skies were beautiful and blue every day.  Sigh.  Needless to say, it has been a challenge getting dressed this week when I feel so blah about being back to rality.  And the weather today makes it even more difficult.  This is what I am dealing with today:

THE STRUGGLE!  April showers and all that jazz, I guess.  But rain is particularly annoying today because I finally flat ironed my hair this week after going natural for the last two weeks. It is is a long, extended process getting my hair from curly (kinky) to somewhat straight.

After fighting my hair’s natural state for a few hours, only to be faced with humidity, which is my kryptonite, I am bitter.

Anywho, I tried not to let bad weather (and the prospect of frizzy hair) weather put a damper on my outfit choices this week. So, today I am wearing something sure to brighten my day. I picked out the J Crew Factory Printed Cap-sleeve Shirttale Blouse in Navy Purple Red, which I bought in December 2015. You can find the solid color version here.

I really love the bold colors on this blouse. And because this blouse has red-orange, navy blue, purple, burgundy, and cream stripes, the possibilities for wearing this blouse both at home and in the office are endless! For work, I can pair this blouse with any number of pencil skirts in my wardrobe, as I own baby blue, orange, red,  and burgundy skirts. I can also wear this blouse with my beige suit or keeping it simple, I can wear it with a black skirt as I did here today. 

This Petite Ponte Pencil Skirt (size 0P) is from Ann Taylor, and I bought it 2 months ago on the sale rack (extra 40% off baby!). I really love this skirt, as it has a perfect amount of stretch, so it looks really slimming and sleek. It doesn’t ride up the way many stretchy skirts do, so I am not tugging at the skirt all day long.  And the material isn’t too thick or too thin, so it is perfect for year-wrong use. This skirt works really well with blouses that need to be tucked in because it really holds them in place.  I really wish I had bought this skirt in other colors (chianti and heather charcoal grey) when they were available in my size!  Dammit! I hate when that happens!
Since it’s so chilly in my office on most days, I threw on a cobalt blue cardigan from New York and Company, for an extra pop of color.  Of course, the cardigan looks more purple than cobalt in this picture, but what can I do?

And rather than wearing boring black pumps, I wore my purple Nine West heels that I dug out during Operation Clean Out My Closet.

 

 

And here’s another outfit I wore this week, sticking with the mood-improving bold colors…

The skirt is a J. Crew Factory Petite Pencil Skirt in Double Serge Wool – Oxbow Blue (0P), which I bough in December 2015.  I love this skirt – even though it’s wool, which you typically would only wear in the Fall and Winter, this skirt isn’t really overly heavy, so it works during the Spring as well.  I don’t think I’ll wear it after this month, but the bright cobalt color totally works for now.  The blouse I am wearing is from Old Navy,  maybe 2013 or so?  I love the v-back on this top. Definitely a party in the back, so for work I put on a sea foam green cardigan, also from Old Navy, which is probably 5 or 6 years old.  My shoes are J. Renee Striped Pump Pumps & Heels (blue/white), which I bought from DSW, I dunno, 4 or 5 years ago.  I love these shoes.  I wish I had bought them in yellow when they still sold them.  This always happens to me.  I need to really go with my instincts and just buy stuff if I like it.

HAPPY FRIDAY, EVERYONE!

~Mo

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

Thoughts?

