Petite Fashion Friday

What a week! Hubs was out of town and kids #2 and #3 started soccer practice for the spring soccer league, and of course my oldest is knee deep in travel soccer and year-round swim team (over scheduled much?), so needless to say, there was a lot of running around like a chicken with my head cut off!  Plus, there was the Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde weather all week (high 60s one day, wind chills in the teens the next day, and I think it might snow tomorrow), which added an extra layer of cray cray to an already insane week. But in the midst of all of this, I managed to wear a few really cute outfits.  Here are my favorite outfits from this work week…

I started out the week with some really bold and bright spring colors. On Monday, I went into the office, and it was the Loft Geo Eyelet Pencil Skirt in Spring Citron (size 0P), which I bought in in-store in November 2015 as a final sale item for something like $8. You can find a similar one  here. When I bought this skirt, I was wishing for an early spring so that I could put it into the rotation. Every time I looked at this skirt in my closet, I would get excited about the day I would finally get to wear it. Giddy as a schoolgirl I tell ya! So, YAY!

This skirt fits really well – admittedly, it is a tad short, but so am I, so it’s not a big problem.  And the waist is cinched in a bit, so it actually fits exactly right rather than being way too big! The skirt is made of a lightweight cotton, so it’s definitely best to wear on warmer days.  And I love the bright yellow hue. There is no way you can feel grumpy or cranky wearing this color!  Instant mood-improvement comes with wearing this skirt for realz!

The cobalt top I am wearing is from Stitch Fix #3, and it’s the 19 Cooper Cathleen Split Neck Tulip Sleeve Blouse in Cobalt.  I really love this top, and it has been hard not to wear it more often than I do.  And there is something really awesome about the yellow and blue color combination (I am a University of Michigan alumni after all – GO BLUE – so I’ll wear this color combo a lot)!

 

I worked from home on Tuesday, and it was a frigid morning.  Wind chills were in the teens.  Wtf, Spring?   I had already packed away my winter gear, and put all my coats in the closet underneath the basement stairs, so getting dressed that day was a wee challenge.

Even if I hadn’t packed away my winter gear, I didn’t want to wear Winter colors anyway. Mother Nature may be totally confused about what season it is, but I am over wearing dark winter colors. Only bright Spring colors for this petite gal!

So, I put on a pair of J.Crew Factory Skinny Jeans with 28″ Inseam (size 24) that the hubs bought me for my birthday.  (side note: J.Crew is messing with their sizes again – I’ve not lost any weight, and yet I wore size 25 last year; I wish companies would stop screwing with their sizes, as they’re not foolin me).  I love the color on these jeans (rose tile).  And they’re so soft and comfy. Since it was so chilly that day, I needed a long-sleeve shirt.  Enter the Halogen Long Sleeve Chambray shirt from Trunk Club #1 was perfect.  Like my skinny jeans, this shirt is super soft. For my shoes, fortunately, I hadn’t packed up my boots yet, so I wore my Sam Edelman beige booties.  A totally comfy and cozy outfit for a sunny (but cold) Spring Day!

On Thursday, it was a chilly, rainy Spring day, so I needed to wear something to counteract the bad weather.  And I had to give a presentation at work that I hadn’t exactly prepared for, so I need to wear something that help me get my head in the game!  So, I decided I would wear the 41Hawthorn Moni Geo Print & Camisole Blouse – Orange (XS) from Stitch Fix #4.

This top is definitely perfect for a day when you want to dress to impress but you’re not quite feeling up to the task. And since this was an occasion where I had to look more professional and less business casual, I paired my blouse with a black high waist pencil skirt from Banana Republic circa 2010 and a pair of black heels. I also added a pearl necklace, which I thought was a classic touch that contrasted nicely with the modern look of the blouse.

I guess feeling good about my outfit worked, because the presentation I gave was well-received and much appreciated! Never underestimate the power of a good outfit!

And that’s a wrap. I hope everyone has a great Friday and an even better weekend.

~Mo

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

3 thoughts on “Petite Fashion Friday”

Thoughts?

