Petite Fashion Friday and Pattern Mixing (August 12)

Hey everyone! Happy Friday! Today is a short post, as I only have one outfit to show you! And that’s not because I didn’t bother to get out of my PJs all week – I simply forgot to snap any pictures of some of my cute outfits this week. Oh well!

Here is what I am wearing today for to go into the office.  I bought this LuLaRoe Cassie skirt (size XS) from my favorite consultant last month, and I have been dying to wear it. Of course, I love the bright yellow on this skirt, but this particular print is a tad out of my comfort zone because I don’t usually go for kitschy animal (or in this case, what look like insects) prints.  But, I had took a chance! However, before putting this skirt into the rotation,  I needed to first to find a top to wear with it, because I didn’t want to go the safe route – black or white would have been too obvious!

I was hoping to find a green top to match the print in this skirt. Enter the LuLaRoe Gracie which has a very subtle green and black stripe. This is actually a kid’s top, in size 14, which I find fit much better than the women’s version.  I think I could even size down to size 12 if I wanted an even more fitted top, but I haven’t tried that (yet)!  I actually found another Gracie top in a similar color (with stripes) to wear with this skirt.  But I had already worn it over the weekend when we took our army of kids to Busch Gardens.

Isn’t this picture the best?!  My youngest 2 kids’ faces are absolutely priceless.

Anywho, back to this outfit!  I really like these two LLR pieces together because they are a “safe” attempt at pattern mixing, of which I am trying to do more!  The subtle striped print on the top works so well with this skirt, and really makes the green on the print stand out a bit more.

For accessories, I stuck with gold, which I am really starting to like again (I used to only wear yellow gold in my teens and early 20’s, followed by the last 15-18 years of sticking with white gold and silver).  I think the gold hoops and gold statement necklace from Francesca’s are a nice subtle touch.  I didn’t want to detract from the boldness of these prints.  And to finish things, I put on a black stretch belt from Francesca’s and charcoal open-toed pumps from BCBG.

And that’s all  for this week.  I hope everyone has a great weekend!

~Mo

 

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

One thought on “Petite Fashion Friday and Pattern Mixing (August 12)”

Thoughts?

