Stitch Fix #8 Review

Hey everyone!  It has been a few months since I last received a fix, and I have been so busy getting ready to become a LuLaRoe Fashion Consultant that I totally forgot that I even scheduled this fix after my last one in June.  You can imagine my surprise when I received an email saying my fix was on its way.  (If you don’t know what Stitch Fix is, and are interested in learning more, scroll down to the bottom of this post).

img_1338

Yikes.  I need to pay better attention to these things, for sure.  And since I didn’t even remember that I had scheduled this fix, I didn’t even add any comments or anything in advance, like I normally do.  So, yeah, I was super nervous that I would get sent some crap, especially since Amanda hadn’t been available these last few fixes.

When I checked in the app to see what was in the fix, I was really disappointed with what I saw, and was feeling quite sad that I hadn’t paid better attention!

Since I’ve had a string of bad luck in fixes, even where I give loads of feedback, I simply didn’t think there was a snowball’s chance in hell that I would be happy with any of these pieces, as they weren’t colors that I loved and the damn sure weren’t prices I love.  Practically everything $100?  I mean, really, a $118 blouse?  That’s way more than I’d wish to spend on most things, and especially a shirt that I figured would be too big anyway.

But, I am here to tell you folks that as great as I think it is that you can preview what’s in your fix, you really should reserve judgment.  You simply cannot, I repeat CANNOT, judge your fix until you actually receive it.  And, you must try everything on before crapping all over it.  You absolutely have to give everything a chance, because you may find something you like, even if it’s meh when you pull it out of the box!

This fix is definitely proof that you need to wait and be optimistic!  I had all but written off everything in this fix and wasn’t even going to try anything on.  And I was mad that I was going to lose my styling fee.  But then I decided to try stuff on just to be sure.  Once I started trying things on, I ended up really liking this fix a great deal despite that first impression!!!  Lesson learned.

Kut From The Kloth Dollee Knit Dress – KEPT

Size 0
Size 0

So, yeah, I just knew I was going to dislike this dress when I previewed.  I thought I’d hate the dark color and the cut of the dress.  I also assumed it would be too big.  And when I pulled it out of the box, I really didn’t like the wrap in the front.  It seemed too busy and not my style at all.  Yeah, I was wrong.  I put the dress on and LOVED it!  img_3725-1I mean, this dress fits me like a glove. I like the wine color in person (although, admittedly, if this dress were in blue or a shade of green, I would have LOVED it even more).  And, again, this dress fits like it was made especially for me.  That RARELY, if ever, happens to me.  Now, I wasn’t excited about the price, as it’s more than I would like to spend.  But the hubs saw me snapping pictures of this dress and he was like, “DAMN, you NEED to get that dress.”  And when I told him it was expensive, and he responded “$98 isn’t expensive for a dress,” that was all I needed to know.  Nuff said.

Liverpool Kolten Denim Jacket – RETURNED

Size XS
Size XS

First impression on this one was meh. I already own 2 denim jackets, and I am not a fan of light-colored denim in any event.  After trying on, yeah, still meh.

There’s nothing wrong with this jacket per se, but it simply did absolutely nothing for me.  Yeah, it’s super soft – it doesn’t even feel like denim – but, I don’t like the color.  And, as I said, I already have 2 jean jackets that I really like, so I wouldn’t even consider buying this denim jacket at half the cost.  It was easy to pass on this one.

Free Heary Zacarias Unfinished Hem Top – KEPT

Size XS
Size XS

I was super meh about this top when I saw the preview, although, truthfully, I considered buying it regardless of how it fit so I wouldn’t lose my styling fee. When I pulled this top out of the box, I felt even more meh.  The top was fine, but there just didn’t seem to be anything special about it, either.  And I didn’t love the color, which seemed to pastel for my liking.  When I tried it on the first time, just to see if it would fit, I liked the way it fit, but was otherwise underwhelmed.  But I know you can see that I marked KEPT above, so what changed, you may be wondering?  Well, I tired it on and styled it. And loved it.

img_3723

Yeah, I really loved the way this top looked once I put it on a second time. Maybe I just really like this outfit I put together, but this top went from being meh to wow! It sits right above my hips, which means it is the PERFECT length.  That NEVER happens for me when it’s not a petite size (which this isn’t). I dunno.  I just love the way I look in this top, there no other way to explain it.  The color looks so pretty against white, and I am sure it will look amazing with a bunch of other pieces in my wardrobe. Even the hubs was on board with this top.  And he’s the type of guy who is really annoyed with how much I spend on clothes. So for him to encourage me to buy something else from this fix, when he knows I am about to become a LuLaRoe Fashion Consultant, I knew I had to get this top, too.

Amour Vert For Stitch Fix Allessandro Silk V-Neck Blouse – RETURNED

Size XS
Size XS

So, my first impression on this top was that it was just way too expensive.  I am pretty sure that I have never bought a shirt for $118, not once.  And price notwithstanding, I figured this blouse would be way too big (it’s not petite) and way too long.  I also didn’t love the print.  I pretty much felt the same once I opened the box.  But, I was super surprised when I actually put it on and

loved it.img_3731Well, I loved the print once I had it on.  And this blouse is made out a very slinky material, so it feels so nice against the skin.  way it looks in the front.  It’s longer than I would normally wear, and it’s a tad roomy, but it somehow just works.  It looks great from the front, and as styled, I think it looks really cute with skinny jeans and heels. I could definitely see myself wearing this for GNO or date night. But then I turned around, and UGH, the back of this blouse, tho…

img_3732-1

The back is no bueno.  It looks like a too-large pair of pajamas.  It looks very bad on me from this view, and that, coupled with the price tag, means this had to go back.

Lila Ryan Dorianna Skinny Jean – RETURNED

Size 0P
Size 0P

So, I always like receiving skinny jeans, and I believe I have asked for these previously without luck, so I had a feeling that I would love the cut and fit.  But, my first impression was that I wouldn’t like the color.  I actually already own a pair of green skinny jeans from Stitch Fix, so I wasn’t keen on buying another pair.

And after trying them on, I was right.  I absolutely loved how they fit.  LIke a glove.  Although, my arse is starting to look a little KK-ish.  Anywho, if I didn’t already own a similar pair, I would have definitely bought these.  But I do.  So, I can’t justify buying these, especially not at this price.

Okay, and there you have it.  What I thought was going to be a god-awful fix ended up being pretty awesome.  I kept the two pieces, and only really disliked one of the remaining.  Not bad, in my book.  I think this is because Amanda is back to styling me n(where were you my last two fixes, Amber???).  Thank goodness!  We are back in business, Stitch Fix!

ABOUT STITCH FIX

Stitch Fix is an online personal stylist service.  All you do is fill out a style profile, including your wants, likes, and dislikes, and schedule a “fix” to be sent to you on a specified date.  The styling fee is $20, which you can use toward the purchase of anything your stylist has sent to you.   You buy what you want and return what you don’t want, and you only pay for the items that you keep.  Interested?  Want to try Stitch Fix for yourself?  Want to also help a petite gal get a $25 referral fee to feed her shopping obsession? Click here.
WANT TO TAKE A PEEK AT PREVIOUS FIXES THAT I’VE REVIEWED?

Fix #1 (January 2015)

Fix #2 (March 2015)

Fix #3 (April 2015)

Fix #4 (September 2015)

Fix #5 (December 2015)

Fix #6 (March 2016)

Fix #7 (May 2016)

~Mo

Published by

MoVig

Attorney.Wife.Mom.Wannabe Fashionista.Wannabe Interior Decorator.Just Trying to Have it All and Keep it REAL!

8 thoughts on “Stitch Fix #8 Review”

    1. I can’t lie – I was soooo disappointed before I tried anything on, and I’m really glad I gave this fix a chance. It’s still hard for me to accept that I won’t love everything in my fix, but I’ll get there!

      Like

Thoughts?

